Tomorrow: Nordic Council Film Prize Nominees 2011

22-08 2011

Thomas Vinterberg (DK)


The official announcement will be made during press conferences held at the Norwegian International Film Festival in Haugesund and in Helsinki and the information will be relayed simultaneously in Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden - and posted here

The purpose of the Film Prize is to support the production of Nordic films in order to strengthen the Nordic film industry thereby in the long term contributing to the strengthening of Nordic films internationally. The criteria for winning the prize is the creation of an artistically original film, rooted in Nordic cultural circles, in which the various elements of the film unite to form a harmonious work, and film candidates must have had their national cinema premiere between September 1st, 2010 and August 31st, 2011. 

The Five Nordic film candidates are selected by a Nordic Jury based on recommendations from a national jury from each Nordic country. This year's Nordic Jury consists of Danish journalist Per Juul Carlsen, Outi Heiskanen from Finland's National Audiovisual Archives KAVA, Sif Gunnarsdóttir, CEO of Visit Reykjavik, Silje Riise Næss programmer at Oslo's House of Literature, and Swedish film journalist Fredrik Sahlin.

The Nordic Jury will announce the winner of the Nordic Council Film Prize 2011 late October and the award will be given out during the Nordic Council of Ministers' Session in Copenhagen on November 2, 2011. The DKK350,000 cash award is shared between the film's director, producer and scriptwriter.  

The Nordic Council Film Prize was given out the first time in 2002 to the Finnish director Aki Kaurismäki for The Man Without a Past (Mies vailla menneisyyttä). Last year's winner was Danish director Thomas Vinterberg for his film Submarino.