The Norwegian Ibsen Award 2011 - Three nominees announced

06-09 2011


The 3 nominees for the Ibsen Award '11



This year Ibsen Award is handed out in Ibsen's hometown, Skien, Norway on the 19th of September 2011.  

The nominees are:

Ole Asbjørn Ness (left), lives in Bærum, is nominated for the play FlavaLaden initially staged at Radioteateret the 5th of September 2010. 

Lennart Lidstrøm (center), living in Oslo, is nominated for the play Pingviner i Saharainitially staged at Teater Innlandet 22th of January 2010. 

Eirik Fauske (right), originally from Lindås, now living in Oslo, is nominated for the play Under barnehagen initially staged at Dramatikkens Hus 24th of April 2010. 



About the Norwegian Ibsen Award

The Norwegian Ibsen award is Skien municipality's award and the only dramatist award in Norway. It was awarded for the first time in 1986. It consists of NOK 150 000,- and a statuette of the sculptor Nina Sundbye. The Ibsen Award is given to a Norwegian playwright who has written a play for children or adults and staged at a professional theatre in the past year. A separate jury is responsible for selecting the winner.

The jury has assessed 49 manuscripts this year, which all have had premiere on Norwegian stages and in the Norwegian Radio Theatre in 2010. Kate Pendry won last year's award with the play Erasmus Tyrannus Rex. Jon Fosse, the winner of last years international Ibsen Award, received the Norwegian Ibsen Award in 1996.  ¨

Members of the jury

The jury consists in 2011 of 6 members - a representative from each of the following organizations:

• Norsk Sceneinstruktørforening: Janken Varden (head of the jury)

• Norsk Dramaturgforum: Tine Thomassen

• Norsk Teaterlederforum: Nils Heyerdahl

• Kunsthøgskolen i Oslo: Stephen Hutton

• Norsk Kritikerlag: Kari Gisholt

• Teater Ibsen/Skien kommune: Hilde Susan Jægtnes 

Award Ceremony

The winner of the Ibsen Award 2011 will be announced during a festive evening on the 19th of September in Skien, Norway. The ceremony is a part of Skien International Ibsen Conference 2011. The three nominees for the Ibsen Award will be presented. The host of the evening is Dennis Storhøi. The International Ibsen Scholarships 2011 will also be handed out this evening.  

For more information:

Janken Varden, head of the jury: Ph: +45 35 55 15 03 / +45 30 53 37 46

Ellen Rodvang, press contact: Ph: +47 35 58 13 90 / +47 95 93 46 58

Contact the nominees for Ibsen Award 2010:

Ole Asbjørn Tlf:  472 61 020  

Eirik Tlf:  996 03 262                          

Lennart Lidstrø Tlf : 971 96 063   

More information on the Skien International Ibsen Conference 2011, picture of the nominees and from last year's award ceremony on 

Media registration for the Award Ceremony within the 15th of September to Ellen